The University of Burdwan


The University of Burdwan is located in the district of Purba Bardhaman, West Bengal, India. It was established by the West Bengal Government on 15 June 1960 with six graduate departments and 30 undergraduate colleges spread over three districts that come under the jurisdiction of the university. The jurisdiction covers Birbhum district, Burdwan district except for Asansol subdivision and Hooghly district except for Srirampore subdivision. It is awarded Four Star status by NAAC under UGC, Govt of India. The university offers more than 30 undergraduate and 66 postgraduate courses. There are 227 Esteemed Faculties and 189 affiliated colleges, including degree colleges, B.Ed colleges and private professional institutes.