Vikram University

Vikram University was established in Ujjain on 1 March 1957. The land for it was donated by Shri Ranchod Lalji Dhabai from Barnagar. From time to time many changes and amendments were made to the Act. Considerable decrease in the University jurisdiction occurred due to formation of Indore University, Gwalior during 1964-65, and Bhopal University during 1969-70. 

The Madhya Pradesh Universities Act was amended and published in Madhya Pradesh Gazette, on 28 June 1985. The revenue districts of Ujjain Division i.e. Ujjain, Ratlam, Mandsaur, Neemuch, Shajapur and Dewas come under the jurisdiction of Vikram University. Because of the new jurisdiction, the number of affiliated colleges decreased and some new colleges were granted affiliation. For the year 2016-17, Vikram university has 57 affiliated government colleges and 130 affiliated private colleges. Notable colleges include Government Girls PG College, Ujjain, Government Kalidas Girls College, Ujjain Government Madhav Arts and Commerce College, Ujjain, Government Madhav Science College, Ujjain and Ruxmaniben Deepchand Gardi Medical College.